Anna Wienhard erhält Stipendium des amerikanischen Clay Mathematics Institute

26.03.2019

Prof. Dr. Anna Wienhard, Wissenschaftlerin am Mathematischen Institut der Universität Heidelberg, erhält ein Forschungsstipendium des amerikanischen Clay Mathematics Institute (CMI). Damit wird sie von August bis Dezember 2019 als Clay Senior Scholar zu Gast am Mathematical Sciences Research Institute (MSRI) in Berkeley (USA) sein und dort gemeinsam mit weiteren Wissenschaftlern ein Semesterprogramm zum Thema „Holomorphe Differentiale in Mathematik und Physik“ organisieren. Daran werden Forscher aus aller Welt teilnehmen.

Neben ihrer Professur an der Universität Heidelberg leitet Anna Wienhard die Forschungsgruppe „Groups and Geometrie“ am Heidelberger Institut für Theoretische Studien (HITS). Zuvor lehrte und forschte sie an der amerikanischen Princeton University. Aufenthalte als Gastwissenschaftlerin führten sie unter anderem an das California Institute of Technology (USA). Das Forschungsinteresse der Mathematikerin liegt insbesondere im Bereich der geometrischen Strukturen und deren Symmetrien. Für ihre Arbeiten wurde Prof. Wienhard mehrfach ausgezeichnet.

Das Clay Mathematics Institute ist eine Einrichtung zur Förderung der Mathematik mit Sitz in Peterborough (USA). Das Institut unterstützt die Arbeit von Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern in verschiedenen Phasen ihrer Karriere, etwa durch die Organisation von Workshops und Konferenzen sowie die Vergabe von Stipendien und Forschungspreisen. Das „Clay Senior Scholar“-Stipendienprogramm wendet sich an hervorragende Mathematiker, die das Potential haben, eine führende Rolle in der mathematischen Forschung einzunehmen. Im Jahr 2019 hat das CMI neun Stipendien dieser Art vergeben.

Über das HITS

Das Heidelberger Institut für Theoretische Studien (HITS) wurde 2010 von dem Physiker und SAP-Mitgründer Klaus Tschira (1940-2015) und der Klaus Tschira Stiftung als private, gemeinnützige Forschungseinrichtung ins Leben gerufen. Das HITS betreibt Grundlagenforschung in den Naturwissenschaften, der Mathematik und der Informatik. Dabei werden große, komplexe Datenmengen verarbeitet, strukturiert und analysiert und computergestützte Methoden und Software entwickelt. Die Forschungsfelder reichen von der Molekularbiologie bis zur Astrophysik. Die HITS Stiftung, eine Tochter der Klaus Tschira Stiftung, stellt die Grundfinanzierung der HITS gGmbH auf Dauer sicher. Die Mittel dafür erhält sie von der Klaus Tschira Stiftung. Gesellschafter des HITS sind neben der HITS Stiftung die Universität Heidelberg und das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT). Das HITS arbeitet außerdem mit weiteren Universitäten und Forschungsinstituten sowie mit industriellen Partnern zusammen. Die wichtigsten externen Mittelgeber sind das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF), die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) und die Europäische Union.

Klicken Sie hier um zur $s Seite zu gelangen.

Anna Wienhard receives scholarship from the American Clay Mathematics Institute

26 03 2019

Prof. Dr. Anna Wienhard, researcher at the Mathematical Institute at Heidelberg University, receives a research scholarship from the American Clay Mathematics Institute (CMI). From August to December 2019, she will be a guest at the Mathematical Sciences Research Institute (MSRI) in Berkeley (USA) as a Clay Senior Scholar, where she will organize a semester program on “Holomorphic Differentials in Mathematics and Physics” together with other scientists.

In addition to her professorship at Heidelberg University, Anna Wienhard leads the research group “Groups and Geometry” at the Heidelberg Institute for Theoretical Studies (HITS). Previously, she taught and conducted research at Princeton University. Stays as a guest scientist led her, among others, to the California Institute of Technology (USA). The mathematician’s research interests are in the area of ​​geometric structures and their symmetries. Prof. Wienhard has received several awards for her work.

The Clay Mathematics Institute (CMI) is a private, non-profit foundation, based in Peterborough, New Hampshire, United States. It supports the work of leading researchers at various stages of their careers and organizes conferences, workshops, and summer schools. Contemporary breakthroughs are recognized by its annual Research Award. The Clay Senior Scholar Program addresses outstanding mathematicians who have the potential to take a leading role in mathematical research. In 2019, the CMI has awarded nine scholarships of this kind.

About HITS

The Heidelberg Institute for Theoretical Studies (HITS) was established in 2010 by the physicist and SAP co-founder Klaus Tschira (1940-2015) and the Klaus Tschira Foundation as a private, non-profit research institute. HITS conducts basic research in the natural sciences, mathematics and computer science, with a focus on the processing, structuring, and analyzing of large amounts of complex data and the development of computational methods and software. The research fields range from molecular biology to astrophysics. The shareholders of HITS are the HITS-Stiftung, which is a subsidiary of the Klaus Tschira Foundation, Heidelberg University and the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). HITS also cooperates with other universities and research institutes and with industrial partners. The base funding of HITS is provided by the HITS Stiftung with funds received from the Klaus Tschira Foundation. The primary external funding agencies are the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF), the German Research Foundation (DFG), and the European Union.

Click here to go to the German home page.