Smart Simulations for Supercomputers

27. December 2016

HITS researcher Volker Springel received a HLRS Golden Spike Award 2016

Prof. Volker Springel (Photo: HITS)
Prof. Volker Springel (Photo: HITS)

During the 19th annual HLRS Results and Review Workshop at the High Performance Computing Center Stuttgart, the steering committee of HLRS chose three particularly excellent research projects to honor them with a special trophy: The HLRS Golden Spike Award. One of the recipients is Prof. Volker Springel, head of the HITS research group Theoretical Astrophysics (TAP). He was awarded for his work in the “The Illustris++ Project: The Next Generation of Cosmological Hydrodynamical Simulations of Galaxy Formation”.

The Decision criteria for the awarded projects were: Scientific relevance (top in their research field), imperative of high performance computing for their research, optimal usage of HPC equipment in terms of optimization, parallelization and overall performance, presentation format of the results at the Review Workshop.
More on the Golden Spike Award and the HLRS:

About HITS

HITS, the Heidelberg Institute for Theoretical Studies, was established in 2010 by physicist and SAP co-founder Klaus Tschira (1940-2015) and the Klaus Tschira Foundation as a private, non-profit research institute. HITS conducts basic research in the natural, mathematical, and computer sciences. Major research directions include complex simulations across scales, making sense of data, and enabling science via computational research. Application areas range from molecular biology to astrophysics. An essential characteristic of the Institute is interdisciplinarity, implemented in numerous cross-group and cross-disciplinary projects. The base funding of HITS is provided by the Klaus Tschira Foundation.

Switch to the German homepage or stay on this page